Zuckerman Spaeder Among 47 Firms Honored for $5.5M Donations to Raising the Bar Campaign

On April 26 the District of Columbia Access to Justice Commission honored 47 firms that participated in its 2016 Raising the Bar in D.C. campaign, collectively donating $5.5 million toward enhancing civil legal services in the District.

Each of the firms donated a benchmark percentage of their D.C. office revenue to local legal services organizations in 2016.

“You are making real the promise of our justice system,” said Catherine E. Lhamon, chair of the U.S. Commission on Civil Rights in her remarks at the reception held at Arent Fox LLP.

D.C. Access to Justice Commission Chair Peter Edelman also thanked the firms for their generosity and leadership. "I am so proud of the private–public partnership, which has started here with this event,” he said.

Throughout the evening, Edelman and Lhamon emphasized the need for strong civil legal aid services not only in the District but nationally as well. Among those in attendance were U.S. Court of Appeals for the District of Columbia Circuit Chief Judge Merrick Garland, D.C. Superior Court Chief Judge Robert Morin, D.C. Bar CEO Robert Spagnoletti, D.C. Bar President Annamaria Steward, and members of the D.C. Council.

Participating firms have donated more than $26 million to the legal services provider community in the District since the Raising the Bar campaign launched in 2010.

2016 Participating Firms

Akin Gump Strauss Hauer & Feld LLP
Arent Fox LLP
Arnold & Porter Kaye Scholer LLP
Benach Collopy, LLP
Beveridge & Diamond PC
Boies, Schiller & Flexner, LLP
BuckleySandler LLP
Cleary Gottlieb Steen & Hamilton LLP
Covington & Burling LLP
Crowell & Moring LLP
Cuneo Gilbert & LaDuca, LLP
Delaney McKinney, LLP
Dentons US LLP
DLA Piper LLP (US)
Dykema Gossett PLLC
Epstein Becker & Green, P.C.
Eversheds Sutherland (US) LLP
Greenberg Traurig, LLP
Jenner & Block LLP
Jones Day
Katz, Marshall & Banks
Kirkland & Ellis LLP
Klein Hornig LLP
Latham & Watkins LLP
Law Offices of Andrea Ferster
Law Offices of Andrew Marks PLLC
Law Office of Cecily E. Baskir, LLC
Law Offices of Gary N. Horlick
Law Office of Sara Kropf PLLC
Lippman, Semsker & Salb LLC
Matalon & Nathani, LLP
Mayer Brown LLP
Miller & Chevalier Chartered
Orr Immigration Law Firm
Orrick, Herrington & Sutcliffe LLP
Pillsbury Winthrop Shaw Pittman LLP
Regan Associates, Chartered
Relman, Dane & Colfax PLLC
Richards Kibbe & Orbe LLP
Sidley Austin LLP
Steptoe & Johnson LLP
Stradley Ronon Stevens & Young, LLP
The Morrison & Foerster Foundation
The Piorkowski Law Firm, PC
Weisbrod Matteis & Copley PLLC
Wilmer Cutler Pickering Hale & Dorr LLP
Zuckerman Spaeder LLP

Media contact

Diana L. Courson
Chief Marketing Officer
Email | 202.778.1871